You may have sustained injuries caused by a car accident. You may be wondering if your health insurance can cover your medical costs. This article answers the question, “Does health insurance cover car accident injuries?”
Can Health Insurance Cover Car Accident Injuries?
The answer is yes. Your health insurance policy can help cover the medical costs of injuries sustained in a car accident. Depending on the state, your auto insurance policy can also cover medical costs for injuries caused by a car accident.
When Should I Use Auto Insurance or Health Insurance to Pay For Car Accident Injuries?
Your healthcare provider will have a look at both your auto insurance and health insurance policies when paying for medical costs related to car accidents. The policy that will be used to cover the costs will depend on the state’s laws and the accident’s circumstances.
What If I’m Injured After an Accident, But I Don’t Have Health Insurance?
If you are injured in a car accident, don’t delay seeking medical attention even if you don’t have health insurance. Your health is much more important than anything else. Healthcare providers are legally required to offer other options to uninsured patients, such as discounted charges for treatment and interest-free treatment plans.
Some healthcare providers may treat you and postpone the payment until the insurance claim is settled.
Can You Use Health Insurance if You Do Not Have MedPay or PIP?
You can use your health insurance to cover medical costs from car accidents, even if you don’t have MedPay or PIP.
In addition, you can file a claim against the other driver’s insurance if you live in a tort state. If the other driver is found to be the at-fault, their insurance coverage will be used to pay your medical expenses.
Who Pays Medical Bills in a Car Accident in California?
The state of California is fault-based. You are responsible for paying your medical bills if you get injured in a car accident. The state requires drivers to have an auto insurance policy with a minimum of $30,000 in bodily injury coverage.
The state laws also require drivers to have a minimum of $5,000 in property damage coverage. You can then file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance policy to be compensated for your losses.
Your health insurance can be used to cover for injuries sustained in a car accident. However, the auto insurance policy will be used first to pay for the medical costs until its limit. The healthcare provider can then use your health insurance policy to cover the remaining medical expenses.